Hawai‘i QSO Party Rules

Promote contacts between as many Hawai‘i and non-Hawai`i stations as possible.

Rules 1.  The contest 48 hour operating period will be from 04:00 UTC Aug 26 to 04:00 UTC Aug 28, 2017.
2.  Stations may be worked only on the 10, 15, 20, 40, 80 and 160 meter bands.
3.  Stations may be worked once per band-mode (CW, SSB, digital). All digital modes are allowed but are considered "digital".
4.  Mulitple contacts with the same station using different types of digital modes on the same band are not allowed.
5.  Use of spotting websites is permitted and encouraged. Click here for recommendations.
6.  Operation must conform to home country regulations.
7.  Logs should be submitted electronically by September 30, 2017.
Exchanges Hawai‘i stations: RS/T plus Hawai‘i Multiplier in the table below. (Click for map of Hawai‘i Multipliers).
Hawai‘i MultiplierCountyHawai‘i MultiplierCounty
HIL, KON, KOH or VOLHawai‘i County (Big Island)KAU or NIIKaua‘i County
HON, WHN, LHN or PRLHonolulu County (O‘ahu Island)MAU, MOL or LANMaui County
KALKalawao County (located on the island of Moloka‘i)
Other US and Canadian stations:  RS/T plus State, DC or Province/Territory;     DX stations:  RS/T only.
All stations call CQ Hawai`i QSO Party on phone; CQ HQP on CW and in digital modes
S/O QRPSingle Operator QRP, limited to 5 watts or less on all modes
S/O LPSingle Operator Low Power, limited to 100 watts or less on all modes
S/O HPSingle Operator High Power, limited to the lesser of 1500 watts or the home country legal limit.
M/S LPMulti-Single Low Power, more than one operator sharing ONE station limited to 100 watts maximum on all modes. An operator must operate for at least 10 minutes before any other operator can make a contact.
M/S HPMulti-Single High Power, Same as above, but power can up to 1500W or home country legal limit.
M/M LPMulti-multi Low Power, Same as M/S LP except without the limitation of only one station.
M/M HPMulti-multi High Power, Same as M/S HP except without the limitation of only one station.
 Non-Hawai‘i Stations:  Work Hawai‘i stations.  Hawai‘i Stations:  Work any station.
Each station can be worked three times per band using each mode - SSB, CW and Digital.
QSO Points
SSB - 2 Points  CW 3- Points  Digital 3- Points 
Contest Multipliers
Non-Hawai`i Stations     Multipliers are awarded for working each Hawai‘i Multiplier on each band, regardless
  of mode. The maximum possible is 84 (6 Bands × 14 Hawai‘i Multipliers = 84).
Hawai`i Stations     Multipliers are awarded for the 14 Hawai`i Hawai‘i Multipliers, each US State, DC, each
  Canadian Province/Territory, and DXCC entities, only once, regardless of band or mode.
  Click here for a complete list of US, Canadian and Hawai`i multiplier abbreviations.
Final Score A station's Final Score is the total points multiplied by the Contest Multipliers earned.

All entrants will be able to print out a Certificate of Achievement.
In addition, a special award will be given to the entrant both inside and outside of HI with the most CW QSOs, the most SSB QSOs, the most digital QSOs.

Suggested Frequencies
CW  CW on 1815 and 40 kHz up from the bottom band edge.
Phone  Phone on 1845, 3850, 7230, 14250, 21300, 28450.
Digital Modes  Follow the ARRL Band Plan.

The contest is supported by the free N1MM contesting log program and others..


Logs should be uploaded using the contest submission form at: HQP Log Upload Form.

Cabrillo 3.0 format is preferred, but any reasonable text format with QSO exchange information is acceptable. Log submissions must arrive prior to October 1st, 2017 to be considered for awards.

Revision A - 05/20/2017